Evening Interlude

 
 
 
Friday, 02 Dec 2518
Barriman’s Flat, Hera
Georgia (Huang Long) system
2130 hrs

 
After enjoying a long shower, the Captain reclined in the desk chair in his stateroom. He looked around happy to see his personal space coming together. All of his belongings had been put away neatly. Another thing checked off his list. He waited patiently as the wave went through. Paul smiled sweetly for the auburn haired woman when she answered the call. Grey eyes complimented her beautiful face.

“Hi Lianna.” He waited for her reply watching her brush out her hair.

A grin lit up her face, and she sparkled back at him. “Hey, Paul, how are you? How’s the ‘verse treating you?” She had a small smear of earth on her forehead, and didn’t appear to notice it.

“It’s going well. You’ve got a little something … right here.” He gestured to his own forehead.

Lianna laughed and rubbed at the spot. “That’s what you get for catching me just before I shower and just after a hard day in the garden. What can I do for you tonight?”

Paul was a bit embarrassed and stammered through his reply. “Um … oh yeah, sorry. I have a request. I was hoping you could help us out with ID’s and papers. My Engineer and I would both like to avoid any Alliance inquisition.”

“Didn’t I work up a set of… oh, right.” She took a quick breath, as if re-setting her thoughts. “You actually have a set of papers waiting for you. I must have forgotten to give them to you last time I saw you.” She rolled her eyes at her forgetfulness. “As for your Engineer, have you got a picture? I’ll need a decent picture, see if I can match her to someone existin’. That’s the best way. Also a description. Then I’ll get my hacker to work, and he’ll embed the prints and retina scans. I’ll need those, too, but you can take a couple days.” Lianna furrowed her brow slightly. “They’re solid papers. Should pass anything but a full body scan. If they’re payin’ that close attention, you’ve probably already done somethin’ could get you jailed anyway.”

She thought a moment more. “Things are tough out here, so I ain’t tellin’ you what to do or where to go, but if it’s real illegal, just don’t get yourselves caught, okay? There are few I count as true friends, Paul. I don’t like losin’ those I do. Watch your back.”

“I will, Lianna. I promise. I’ll get you all you need for Kat’s papers soon. I’ll shoot for tomorrow night. Will you be around?” Paul knew that just seeing her face calmed him. Maybe I can sleep through the night now.

“Unless something unexpected comes up, I will.” She visibly went through her list of patients. “Nobody’s due to have a baby, nor is anyone actively ailing… barring accidents or short tempers, I’m all yours, Cap’n.” Much as he didn’t like her calling him Captain, when she sparkled at him like that, he didn’t exactly mind.

In fact, it made him smile. He hoped she couldn’t see the heat in his cheeks. “Sounds good, and thanks. I’ll talk to you tomorrow. Have a nice bath.”

“I intend to. It’s been well earned today. Looks like you had yours just before you called.” She ducked her head, hiding behind her hair, when she realized she was blushing. What on earth! She never blushed, even when performing the most intimate tasks for her patients! Raising her head, she tucked her hair behind her ear and smiled again.

“Good night, Paul. Sweet dreams.” She really meant it, too. She’d seen enough of his nightmares to truly hope for untroubled sleep for him.

“I will.” Paul was convinced he wouldn’t be dreaming about anything but her hair against her neck and bare shoulders. “Good night, Lianna.” He closed the wave and sat for a minute, then whistled aloud and shook his head slightly to clear the clouds. He fell asleep while reading in his recliner, comforted and happy.
 
 
 
Go to: Flight/Worthy, Part 2 | Timeline | Flight/Worthy, Part 3
Go to: Season One: Finding A Crew
 
 
 

Leave a comment